Minnesota Council 
for the Social Studies

MCSS Board of Directors


MCSS Board at the 2017 Conference, Mankato

Jennifer Bloom: jbloom@teachingcivics.org
Learning Law and Democracy Foundation

Jeff Buszta: jeffrey.buszta@mpls.k12.mn.us
South High School (Minneapolis)

Matt Carlstrom: mcarlstrom@isd317.org
Deer River High School

Jessica Ellison (President): jellison@mcss.org
Minnesota Historical Society

Scott Glew (Presenters): scott.glew@isd728.org
Salk Middle School (Elk River)

Jennifer Hansen (Treasurer): jhansen@owatonna.k12.mn.us 
Willow Creek Intermediate School (Owatonna)
NCSS Steering Committee

Ron Hustvedt, Jr.: ronald.hustvedt@isd728.org
Salk Middle School (Elk River)

Crystal Johnson: crystal25johnson@gmail.com
Minnesota International Middle School (Minneapolis)

Michelle Leba (Membership): michelle.leba@spps.org
Washington Technology Magnet School (St. Paul)

Scott Noet (Secretary): snoet@owatonna.k12.mn.us
Owatonna Junior High

Joey Novacheck: joey.novacheck@mnhs.org
Minnesota Historical Society

Emma Ryan: eryan@mcss.org
Scott Highlands Middle School (Apple Valley)
NCSS 2018 Planning Committee

Brian Traxler (Vice President, Exhibitors): bjtraxler@hotmail.com
Convent of the Visitation School (Mendota Heights)
NCSS Resolutions Committee Chair

Valerie Walker (Awards): vwalker@gustavus.edu
Gustavus Adolphus College, Education Department

Mark Westpfahl: markjwestpfahl@gmail.com
Capitol Hill Magnet School, St. Paul

P. J. Wiggin: pwiggin@stpaulprep.org
St. Paul Preparatory School


Getting to Know Your MCSS Board

Summer Spotlight: P. J. Wiggin

School/Organization: St. Paul Preparatory School, St. Paul, MN.

Position: High School Social Studies Teacher at an international school in downtown St. Paul.

Social Studies Passion: Economics.

Challenges: I work primarily with foreign exchange students who are away from their families and struggling with different languages and culture shock. Many times I feel like a surrogate parent. 

Favorite resource: www.teachingtraveling.com is a great blog that shares opportunities for teacher professional development around the U.S. and abroad. 

What do you love about MCSS? I love that MCSS brings together teachers from all of the disciplines, to learn together to improve outcomes for both our students and our fellow educators. 


Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software