Minnesota Council 
for the Social Studies

MCSS Board of Directors


MCSS Board at the 2018 Conference, St. Paul

Jennifer Bloom: jbloom@teachingcivics.org
Learning Law and Democracy Foundation

Jeff Buszta: jeffrey.buszta@mpls.k12.mn.us
South High School (Minneapolis)

Matt Carlstrom (Presenters): mcarlstrom@isd317.org
Deer River High School

Jessica Ellison (President): jellison@mcss.org
Minnesota Historical Society

Jennifer Hansen (Treasurer): jhansen@isd761.org 
Owatonna Middle School
NCSS Steering Committee

Ron Hustvedt, Jr.: ronald.hustvedt@isd728.org
Salk Middle School (Elk River)

Crystal Johnson: crystal25johnson@gmail.com
Maple Grove Senior High

Michelle Leba (Membership): michelle.leba@spps.org
Washington Technology Magnet School (St. Paul)

Scott Noet (Secretary): snoet@isd761.org
Owatonna Middle School
NCSS Assignments Committee

Ashley Roth: ashley.roth28@gmail.com
Burnsville-Eagan-Savage School District

Emma Ryan: eryan@mcss.org
Scott Highlands Middle School (Apple Valley)
NCSS 2018 and 2019 Planning Committees

Brian Traxler: bjtraxler@hotmail.com
Convent of the Visitation School (Mendota Heights)

Valerie Walker (Awards): vwalker@gustavus.edu
Gustavus Adolphus College, Education Department

Mark Westpfahl: markjwestpfahl@gmail.com
Capitol Hill Magnet School, St. Paul

P. J. Wiggin (Vice President, Exhibitors): pjwiggin@gmail.com
Anoka High School

Danielle Wippler: dmwippler@csbsju.edu
Pre-service teacher, College of St. Benedict


Getting to Know Your MCSS Board

Spring Spotlight: Ashley Roth

School/Organization: Burnsville High School

Position: Teaches 10th grade World History and 11th grade American History

Social Studies Passion: I love globes, maps, and geography! I like to think about how diverse the world is by looking at a globe or map.

Challenges: Because I am a newer teacher, planning curriculum has been the biggest challenge for me. I dedicate a lot of time creating lessons that offer students opportunities to learn about their place in this world, and about the world around them.

Favorite resource: The Stanford History Education Group offers lesson plans using relevant primary sources that are very accessible to my students: https://sheg.stanford.edu/history-lessons

What do you love about MCSS? I love being part of a group of educators who are always talking about the good in others and social studies. Being an advocate for social studies for the past five years on this board has given me connections to valued professionals and has given me a bigger voice in my career.  


Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software