Minnesota Council 
for the Social Studies

MCSS Board of Directors


Board members at the 2016 NCSS conference, Washington, D.C.

Getting to Know Your MCSS Board

Winter 2017 Spotlight: Emma Ryan, Secretary

School/Organization: Scott Highlands Middle School, District 196

Position: Teacher of 6th grade MN studies. First year using the Northern Lights curriculum. I've been teaching social studies since 1988.

Social Studies Passion: Research skills.

Challenges: I am challenged by learning a new curriculum and lack of time to prepare and give meaningful feedback to individual students.

Favorite resource: Teaching Tolerance website has great resources in the form of free documentaries for teaching civil rights.

What do you love about MCSS? I love the people I have met through MCSS. It has afforded me great professional development and opportunity to learn advocacy for the subject I am passionate about.

Jennifer Bloom: jbloom@teachingcivics.org
Learning Law and Democracy Foundation

Jeff Buszta: jeffrey.buszta@mpls.k12.mn.us
South High School (Minneapolis)

Matt Carlstrom: mcarlstrom@isd317.org
Deer River High School

Jessica Ellison (President): jellison@mcss.org
Minnesota Historical Society

Scott Glew (Presenters): scott.glew@isd728.org
Salk Middle School (Elk River)

Jennifer Hansen (Treasurer): jhansen@owatonna.k12.mn.us 
Willow Creek Intermediate School (Owatonna)

Ron Hustvedt, Jr.: ronald.hustvedt@isd728.org
Salk Middle School (Elk River)

Crystal Johnson: crystalblunt25@gmail.com
Minnesota International Middle School (Minneapolis)

Michelle Leba (Membership): michelle.leba@spps.org
Washington Technology Magnet School (St. Paul)

Scott Noet: snoet@owatonna.k12.mn.us
Owatonna Junior High

Joey Novacheck: joey.novacheck@mnhs.org
Minnesota Historical Society

Emma Ryan (Secretary): eryan@mcss.org
Scott Highlands Middle School (Apple Valley)

Brian Traxler (Vice President, Exhibitors): bjtraxler@hotmail.com
Convent of the Visitation School (Mendota Heights)

Valerie Walker (Awards): vwalker@gustavus.edu
Gustavus Adolphus College, Education Department

Mark Westpfahl: markjwestpfahl@gmail.com
Capitol Hill Magnet School, St. Paul

P. J. Wiggin: pwiggin@stpaulprep.org
St. Paul Preparatory School

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software