Minnesota Council 
for the Social Studies

MCSS Board of Directors


MCSS Board at the 2018 Conference, St. Paul

Jennifer Bloom: jbloom@teachingcivics.org
Learning Law and Democracy Foundation

Jeff Buszta: jeffrey.buszta@mpls.k12.mn.us
South High School (Minneapolis)

Matt Carlstrom (Presenters): mcarlstrom@isd317.org
Deer River High School

Jessica Ellison (President): jellison@mcss.org
Minnesota Historical Society

Jennifer Hansen (Treasurer): jhansen@isd761.org 
Owatonna Middle School
NCSS Steering Committee

Ron Hustvedt, Jr.: ronald.hustvedt@isd728.org
Salk Middle School (Elk River)

Crystal Johnson: crystal25johnson@gmail.com
Community School of Excellence (St. Paul)

Michelle Leba (Membership): michelle.leba@spps.org
Washington Technology Magnet School (St. Paul)

Scott Noet (Secretary): snoet@isd761.org
Owatonna Middle School
NCSS Assignments Committee

Ashley Roth: ashley.roth28@gmail.com
Burnsville-Eagan-Savage School District

Emma Ryan: eryan@mcss.org
Scott Highlands Middle School (Apple Valley)
NCSS 2018 and 2019 Planning Committees

Brian Traxler: bjtraxler@hotmail.com
Convent of the Visitation School (Mendota Heights)

Valerie Walker (Awards): vwalker@gustavus.edu
Gustavus Adolphus College, Education Department

Mark Westpfahl: markjwestpfahl@gmail.com
Capitol Hill Magnet School, St. Paul

P. J. Wiggin (Vice President, Exhibitors): pjwiggin@gmail.com
Anoka High School

Danielle Wippler: dmwippler@csbsju.edu
Pre-service teacher, College of St. Benedict


Getting to Know Your MCSS Board

Fall Spotlight: Jennifer Hansen

School/Organization: Willow Creek Intermediate School/ Owatonna Public Schools

Position: Teaches 6th grade Social Studies and Language Arts

Social Studies Passion: My biggest passion is state history! Specifically the great state of Minnesota! 

Challenges: The biggest challenge I face with regards to Social Studies is the shrinking time being dedicated to Social Studies in the elementary classroom. Due to the testing in other content areas like Reading, Math, and Science and the tend to focus on S.T.E.M. the Social Studies is being squeezed out of the classroom equation. 

Favorite resource: I have lots of favorites, but here is my favorite:  www.mnvideovault.org  (All the great videos for Minnesota Studies without paying the prices for DVD copies.) You can stream them right to your classroom. 

What do you love about MCSS? I love the passion for Social Studies that is shared among the members! Whether your content focus is Civics, History, Economics, or Geography there is something for everyone as a member of MCSS.


Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software