Minnesota Council 
for the Social Studies

MCSS Board of Directors


MCSS Board at the 2017 Conference, Mankato

Jennifer Bloom: jbloom@teachingcivics.org
Learning Law and Democracy Foundation

Jeff Buszta: jeffrey.buszta@mpls.k12.mn.us
South High School (Minneapolis)

Matt Carlstrom (Presenters): mcarlstrom@isd317.org
Deer River High School

Jessica Ellison (President): jellison@mcss.org
Minnesota Historical Society

Jennifer Hansen (Treasurer): jhansen@owatonna.k12.mn.us 
Willow Creek Intermediate School (Owatonna)
NCSS Steering Committee

Ron Hustvedt, Jr.: ronald.hustvedt@isd728.org
Salk Middle School (Elk River)

Crystal Johnson: crystal25johnson@gmail.com
Minnesota International Middle School (Minneapolis)

Michelle Leba (Membership): michelle.leba@spps.org
Washington Technology Magnet School (St. Paul)

Scott Noet (Secretary): snoet@owatonna.k12.mn.us
Owatonna Junior High

Joey Novacheck: joey.novacheck@mnhs.org
Minnesota Historical Society

Ashley Roth: ashley.roth28@outlook.com
Lakes International Language Academy, Forest Lake

Emma Ryan: eryan@mcss.org
Scott Highlands Middle School (Apple Valley)
NCSS 2018 Planning Committee

Brian Traxler (Vice President, Exhibitors): bjtraxler@hotmail.com
Convent of the Visitation School (Mendota Heights)
NCSS Resolutions Committee Chair

Valerie Walker (Awards): vwalker@gustavus.edu
Gustavus Adolphus College, Education Department

Mark Westpfahl: markjwestpfahl@gmail.com
Capitol Hill Magnet School, St. Paul

P. J. Wiggin (Presenters): pwiggin@stpaulprep.org
St. Paul Preparatory School


Getting to Know Your MCSS Board

Fall Spotlight: Jennifer Hansen

School/Organization: Willow Creek Intermediate School/ Owatonna Public Schools

Position: Teaches 6th grade Social Studies and Language Arts

Social Studies Passion: My biggest passion is state history! Specifically the great state of Minnesota! 

Challenges: The biggest challenge I face with regards to Social Studies is the shrinking time being dedicated to Social Studies in the elementary classroom. Due to the testing in other content areas like Reading, Math, and Science and the tend to focus on S.T.E.M. the Social Studies is being squeezed out of the classroom equation. 

Favorite resource: I have lots of favorites, but here is my favorite:  www.mnvideovault.org  (All the great videos for Minnesota Studies without paying the prices for DVD copies.) You can stream them right to your classroom. 

What do you love about MCSS? I love the passion for Social Studies that is shared among the members! Whether your content focus is Civics, History, Economics, or Geography there is something for everyone as a member of MCSS.


Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software